Vampyr Developer Diaries Talks About “Making Monsters”

19 January 2018 at 08:21 in Gaming News with 4 comments


DONTNOD’s very first Vampyr Developer Diary is out and this is part of a four-part web series. The very first episode is called Making Monsters and it talks about the protagonist Dr. Jonathan Reid who is a newly turned vampire. Also, other types of vampire creatures have been introduced.

Vampyr PS4
Vampyr Xbox One

The director of the game, Philippe Moreau explains why he is fascinated with the fictitious vampires:

“What interests me about vampires compared with other supernatural creatures, like werewolves or ghouls, is that the vampire is self-aware of their nature as a creature, as a predator,” Moreau further adds, “They are intelligent. This is intriguing for me because we can use this notion of dilemma, a moral choice, with the vampire figure”.

This introduces us to the dilemma that Dr. Reid would be facing as a newly turned vampire, he still has morals which would make it hard for him to choose who he should kill or leave alone.

The game’s overview is:

“Vampyr is set in 1918 London, with the city weakened by the recent World War I and ravaged by the Spanish Flu. The setting makes up an important part of Vampyr’s identity. DONTNOD will make players feel the duality that torments Dr. Jonathan Reid, giving them the freedom to choose who to sacrifice and who to save. Every killing has consequences, and it’s up to players to balance their need to feed and grow stronger, with the rapidly deteriorating city of London.”

In the game, vampires actually don’t call themselves as Ekons other varieties are Ancient Ekons which usually “plot from the shadows”. There is also the Vulkods who are huge and scary-looking the usually “prowl the streets at night” and lastly, the Skals who “hide in the darkest places of the city” because they are disfigured most probably because of the Spanish flu.

For you to get the whole idea, get to watch the complete video below: Vampyr is scheduled to release Spring of 2018 and it will be available to play for PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.